Board of Directors

Those Who Give Us a Y

Carlton Bridges – Chief Volunteer Officer

Richard Lavender – Vice Chief Volunteer Officer

Dr. Charles Stroup – Treasurer

Beth Phillips – Secretary

Mitchell Humphries

John Courtney

Marcia Duncan

Matt Gilliland

Albert Gray

Kayla Osment

John Poole

Ginny Wallace

Robyn Hill

Bo Caughman

Cherokee County Family YMCA Community Service Scholarship

● Must be a current Cherokee County Family YMCA member, or a member of a Cherokee County Family YMCA program in good standing for one year.

● Must volunteer a minimum of 25 hours for a United Way or Non-Profit Organization in Cherokee County, with a letter of confirmation from the organization.

● Must have a letter of recommendation from a current Cherokee County High School Administrator or a Certified Home-school Administrator. Applicant must have a minimum GPA of 3.0.

● Must be a current student in an Accredited Home-school Program or enrolled in the Cherokee County School District and have been accepted by a University, College, or Community College in the state of South Carolina, with documentation through registers office.

● Must submit an essay explaining in 500 words or more why you have chosen to volunteer your time with the organization (s) that you have and how this experience has changed your life.

Purpose of Scholarship
● To encourage partnerships with young YMCA members and the community.

● To recognize outstanding community service of our young YMCA members.

● To support their dreams and goals through higher education.

Scholarship Award Presentation
● Student recognized during the Cherokee County Family YMCA Annual Meeting.

● Student recognized at High School Senior Award Ceremony in May.

● Student recognized on Cherokee County Family YMCA Rockstar Board, and social media.

Scholarship Award –
● One payment of $500.00 for school related expenses and educational supplies

● Scholarship includes a free YMCA membership for one year.

Scholarship Committee will include –
● The YMCA Governance Committee and YMCA CEO

Scholarship Award Deadline –
● Applications must be submitted to your school Guidance Counselor before the April 1st, deadline.

● Application must be completed entirely online.

● The YMCA Community Service Scholarship Committee will select one applicant from Gaffney and one applicant from Blacksburg and submit their nomination to the entire board for approval at the April YMCA Board of Directors meeting.

Scholarship recipient will be notified on or before May 1st.